Intercultural Communication

Course Website for Tunghai FLLD Seminar

109769346074537421

Posted by thuicc on October 14, 2004

In this interesting article, I think that understanding cultures of each country or racial is quiet important. If people who came from different backgroud, they might sometimes misunderstanding each other. For example, when you talked to Native American, you would be better to see forehead, mouth, ear or throat area because seeing their eyes direct would be thought you’re invasive. As a result, in order to avoid impolite behaviors, we should try to know their culture. The other interesting things are different thought patterns and rhetorical style between Asia American and European American. You can image that when they are talking, European American would be tired of talking with Asia American because Asia American hardly state the point and purpose directly. So European American would think for a while and waste their own time. Finally, I think that in our daily life, we should observe others’ ways of speaking. It not only gives us interesting things but also help us learn many ways of talking with different people.

2 Responses to “109769346074537421”

  1. The question I always have, though, is “What if you are trying to behave as a European American and the European American you’re talking to is trying to behave as an Asian?” Won’t it just be another kind of confusion?

    If I expect you not to speak directly, but you do, then maybe I’ll ignore what you say at the beginning because I think it isn’t important. But you’ll be thinking that I will pay attention to what you say at the beginning because I’m a EuroAmerican. I mean, you’ll be trying to be direct because you think I expect that, but I’ll be thinking you won’t be direct because you’re not a European American. (Am I making any sense here?)

    I mention this because I think it’s happened to me before. I couldn’t tell if someone was speaking in an “Asian” way or a “European American” style, and it got me confused about what the person’s point was.

  2. stacy said

    When I finish reading this “paper”, I think it ‘s incredible for me to believe that there are so many different expressions of different things. Something I think it’s normal for us is quite “unusual” for others. It chooses 10 different aspects to figure out the differences within the 5 communication patterns. In my opinion, the differences impress me most is eye contact and vocal patterns. When eye contact occurs, the dominantculture happens. Eye contact can create
    the level of the cultrue, which is new for me. Vocal pattern for African American pattern is quite surprising. It can range from a quiet, deep sound to NOISY. How can people consider it as acceptable? I think the flexibility of voal patterns in African Americans is quite huge; whereas other 4 patterns mostly prefer quiet, low and deep sound.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.