Intercultural Communication

Course Website for Tunghai FLLD Seminar

Two “fun” sites related to culture and identity

Posted by thuicc on October 24, 2005

I came across two websites recently that are sort of related to culture and identity. The first site is CityCulture.org. You can go to this site and take a “geographic personality test“. I’m not sure what it’s supposed to tell you, except that they claim to be able to tell you what geographic location (city) would best suit your personality. Well, try it, but don’t take it too seriously.

The other website is called “ALL LOOK SAME“. At the top of the page is a “quiz” to take–it shows you pictures of different East Asian people (ordinary Koreans, Japanese, and Chinese) and asks you to identify their nationality based on their picture. See if you can get a good score on this. (I only identified 7 correctly out of 18.) Of course, someone could do the same with Euro-Americans and Europeans, I imagine. I don’t think I’d be able to tell a German from an Italian just by looking at a face. So…

4 Responses to “Two “fun” sites related to culture and identity”

  1. Tracy said

    Oh~It’s really hard to tell who is Chinese who is Japanese and who is Korean @@@@@@@ I think their hair and dressing style will affect our decision… by the way, I got 9 correctly out of 18

  2. You did better than I did, Tracy!

  3. Evonne Wang said

    This is really an interesting test, and I only got 6 out of 18…haha!(worse than Mr. Benda)I am just wondering where Mr. Benda found this test? I’ve learned not to tell the people’s nationality by their out appearances!

  4. I found it by way of a website (blog) called Danwei, which is about Chinese media and advertising.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
