Intercultural Communication

Course Website for Tunghai FLLD Seminar

Penn State students’ introductions

Posted by thuicc on September 21, 2006

To Dr. You’s students,

Please introduce yourselves in the comments section below.  I believe your professor will provide you with instructions about what to include. Nice to meet you!

To THU’s ICC students: enjoy reading!

11 Responses to “Penn State students’ introductions”

  1. Nehemiah Wilson said

    Hello, my name is Nehemiah Wilson. I am a student at Pennsylvania State University. This is my last year of undergraduate studies at this university. Next year I will graduate with a Bachelors of Arts degree in political science along with an international study, a law and liberal arts, and English minor. I am interested mostly in my studies of law. Currently I am researching the domestic and international rhetoric used by politicians to promote death penalty laws. My other interests are in the activities that I do while I am not studying. These are the activities that I enjoy doing: hiking, biking, skateboarding, and running.

  2. Duff Johnston said

    Hello, everyone,

    My name is Duff, and I am a PhD student in Applied Linguistics at PSU. My dissertation research, which I hope to complete in three years, involves English teaching in China. When I finish my degree I hope to teach at a university in the US or East Asia. I’ve lived and worked around the US (Wisconsin, New York City, Arizona, and now Pennsylvania) and in several other countries (Poland, the Palestinian Territories, and Shantou, China). I’ve only managed to visit the Taipei airport in my travels, so I’m interested in learning more about life in Taiwan. My personal interests include film (my undergraduate degree was in media studies), hiking and jogging, and talking about history and current events. I look forward to talking more with you soon.

  3. Krystal Lynn Lynch said

    Hello everyone. I am a senior at Penn State University. I am a English and Poltical Sceince major with a minor in techincal writing. After graduation at Penn state, I plan to go to law school. I want to either do family law or criminal law. They are two diffrent extremes but its a nice variety. For my rheotric class I am in between on a few topics. I guess im going to do the one I find the most information on. My topics are about the legal system ((need to narrow it down))in diffrent cultures, Jesus and how hes looked at in diffrent cultures, and the language translation of movies and books . I want to know how much they change when translated into English or from English to another language. I look forward to talking to you all and I think this will be a very fun experiance. I cant wait!

  4. Luke said

    Greetings All,

    Hi, my name is Luke, and I am a Secondary Education English and Communications major. I’m a junior here at Penn State, and I really enjoy working with people to learn what I can from them. I am looking forward to being an educator and am interested in diverse approaches to education theory and policy. My focus as a future teacher is English and Communications; I enjoy reading and writing and hope to be a good teacher of those topics. I am interested in Chinese approaches to teaching reading and writing, and I hope I can learn something unique on that topic through this class.

  5. Kathleen Miller said

    Hey everyone,

    My name is Kathleen and I am a Crime, Law, and Justice major here at Penn State. I have a Law and Liberal Arts minor and will graduate in May 2007. I hope to attend law school in either the Philadelphia or Boston area after graduation and become a criminal defense attorney. I am currently doing research in how communication within the legal system differs from country to country. Finding information on this topic is not the easiest research I have ever done but am making progress. In my spare time I truely enjoy being outdoors and traveling. I just returned from spending a month studying in Holland and had the best time. I have been horse back riding since I was 7 years old, so that is my true passion. I look forward to hearing from you all!

  6. Grant Miller said

    Hello everyone! My name is Grant Miller and I am a Junior (third year) student at Penn State University. I am majoring in English and minoring in Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, and possibly French. I hope to study abroad this summer in Taipei! I hope to attend law school after I have graduated from Penn State. I am looking at schools in Boston, New York City, and Los Angeles. I am interested in researching the different dialects of chinese spoken in China and the difference between the use of traditional and simplified characters and how they affect commerce, business, and politics. I feel that I could compare this the market in the United States and see how both countries could benefit from learning from eachother’s mistakes.

  7. Rebecca Simon said

    Hi! My name is Rebecca, but you can call me Becca. I am a fourth year student at Penn State getting degrees in Anthropology and English. When I graduate, I hope to pursue a career in Archaeology and Museum studies, but my interests span across a wide area. I am very active on campus and love meeting new people. I love sports and art; and I probably watch too much television. I am really interested in other cultures and hope to travel the world learning everything I can. For the class with Dr. You, I am working on a project about museum displays in different cultures: How do different cultures represent their culture through exhibits? What do they focus on? Why do they choose certain techniques? I am very excited about this class and the various projects involved and can’t wait to hear from some of you!

  8. Lauren Kern said

    Hello. My name is Lauren, and I am an English major at Penn State. My goals after graduation include Graduate school and working in the Peace Corps. Eventually, I would like to be a professor of English or Literature. My other interests include philosophy, music, and animals. For this course, I would like to research literary theory, comparing major Western and Eastern theories about literature. For instance, what is the purpose of literature? Why do we study it? Who has authority of interpretation – the author or the reader? And most importantly, do answers differ from Western philosophical perspectives to Eastern, and are there significant similarities?

    I look forward to getting to know you, and to learning more about your views on writing, literature, and philosophy.

  9. Paul Heggie said

    Hi, I’m Paul. I’m a senior at Penn State, getting my degree in Secondary Education English and Communications. I’d love to teach high school students in the future. There are many other things I’m looking into as well–construction, music, owning and running a cafe, theological studies, traveling, and a whole lot more. I love music and I love movies. Being outside doing anything is also great. I’m currently finding information on the rhetoric being used by United States government officials and North Korean government officials concerning diplomatic policies. I hope to hear from you soon!

  10. Jonathan O'Dwyer said

    Hello everyone. As you can see, my name is Jonathan O’Dwyer. I currently study English at Penn State and hope to one day practice law. Why practice law? At an early age, my family instilled a drive in me to never be trapped by an occupation and forced to do the same thing every day for the rest of my life.
    I am interested in many different elements of society from music to sports, particularly American football and baseball. I hope to one day use my knowledge, gained in law school, to activily engage myself in one of the industries I am interested in. I would love to speak with any one of you about anything you so desire. However, I am doing a research paper on Ha Jin in relation to his use of rhetoric in “War Trash” and how he negotiates rhetorically between the American conception of heroism (drawing from such novels as “Red Badge of Courage” and other works) and the Chinese conception (looking at the “Three Kingdoms” and other works). I am interested to hear what you think constitutes the title of hero and how does a person who attains that title conduct themself. Finally, I would like to say that this is a great opportunity and I look forward to learning a lot from you all.

  11. Jessica said

    Greetings!

    I’m Jessica, a junior at Penn State University. I recently transferred here from Iowa State University where I spent the first two years of college. I am an English major planning to go into Medicine. I am learning Japanese right now, but I can speak French and a little German.

    I am working on a research project which concerns the way people along the US-Mexico border deal with the concept of “border” – how do people on each side feel about such separation and why does being on one side or another make anyone different? Most importantly, how has the rhetoric of the word “border” implemented itself into society?

    My personal interests are soccer, video games, movies and bike riding.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
