Intercultural Communication

Course Website for Tunghai FLLD Seminar

What I want you to think about for next week

Posted by thuicc on September 29, 2006

Yesterday we ended up the class by identifying some of the cocultures we find in Taiwan and some of the stereotypes the dominant culture has about these cocultures. For next week, I’d like you to think about how the cultures/cocultures you belong to affect your communication with people from other cocultures.

For instance, I mentioned that you’re all English majors in Taiwan, and you’ve been trained to write and speak in particular styles of academic English. Can you think of any examples of how your membership in this coculture might have affected your communication style and your communication with people who are not English majors? (You’re welcome to respond on this blog, also.)

4 Responses to “What I want you to think about for next week”

  1. Weiting said

    Hello, I’ll divide my response into 2 parts to talk about this question.
    First, the stereotype other students have toward us, most of them think we dress up trendy, think more liberal, speak up loud due to the effect of westerlized culture. Of course, they expect our English to be BRILLIANT and PERFECT. However, sometimes our Chinese utterances with several English words might be considered superiored or even showing off.
    Second, expression, take myself as an emxample, I remembered I’ve been taught to write Chinese articles with rich modifiers and sayings but less with logic and organization. Therefore, when I was a freshman, I guess my professor was driven crazy cuz they always got digressing answers. If you take an Eng composition from students of other departments, you can tell this obvious expressal difference.
    🙂

  2. thuicc said

    This is interesting because it suggests that there is (still) some identification of English/westernized culture with “trendiness” and liberalness (liberality? what’s the word for that?).

    If it’s true that students from other departments have these stereotypes about English majors, it would be kind of suprising to me considering how “open” Taiwan’s society has become in the last 10 or 15 years (even in the last 5 years). But people might still be more conservative or less likely to “speak up” loudly than I imagine. (I think I watch too much TV in Taiwan and it might twist my impressions of how “real” people communicate!)

    I wonder what students from other departments would think of Japanese majors–would they also be considered more trendy? Is Japanese also associated with a “trendier” culture? Just curious…

  3. Rachel said

    Well, firs, hope it is not to late to post a comment here. Second, I am not sure if what I am going to say has any relation with co-culture. I just thought of once I talked with an Italian who works in Switzerland. He told me his coworker felt really terrible and uneasy on a morning when she couldn’t find a seat on the train. (This seldom happens in Switzerland, though)However, the Italian felt no big deal about it because he said he could never find a seat on the train during the four years of college. I am wondering whether this can be co-culture (Italian in Swizerland & Swiss) and their attitudes on the same event are influenced by their different cultural backgrounds?!

  4. Rachel said

    By the way, I just want to provide a joke making fun of stereotypes:
    HEAVEN is the place where ”All cooks are French/All cops are English/All mechanics are German/All singers are American/All lovers are Italian/ And everything is organized by the Swiss. Then, how about the contrary? HELL is the place where ”All cooks are English/All cops are American/All mechanics are French/All singers are German/All lovers are Swiss/And everything is organized by the Italian.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
