Intercultural Communication

Course Website for Tunghai FLLD Seminar

Do Hajjis have Racial Discrimination?

Posted by kyleepai on October 30, 2006

Hello, I’ve watched the film of Hajj and seen some discussions between my classmates and partners from
Kuwait. I found that some people’s questions are just like mine, and just like my classmates, I am also very impressed and amazed about Hajj and Hajjis. The film shows that how belief directly influence people’s actions and minds; I felt very moved when the Muslims melt into tears because they finally came to
Mecca. The process of the
pilgrimage Muslims take to the holy city of
Mecca is full of difficulty
, but Muslims can overcome it. So, I think that their painstaking to attain their goal in life is praiseworthy and I admire their firm and persistent determinations. I remember that a forty-year-old man said that Muhammad can do it when sixty and he can do so. However, I still feel confused somehow. My question is just like what Rachel mentioned.

In the video, there is a black man who receives unfair treatment when resting at the tent during the pilgrimage. I am wondering if this violates God’s wish of every man is equal? Besides, there is an American woman who joins Hajj as well. She says she still gets people’s doubts of her being Muslim.

Why couldn’t the black stay in the same tent with the other people? To quote in the film, ““God doesn’t look a face. God doesn’t look a body…God is looking for what? Your heart! ” I think a faithful heart is more than everything, but I don’t know if Muslims think so. Do they have racial discriminations? Although in the end of the film the black and the American woman are glad that God accept them, I still want to know why they have some unjust treatment during the pilgrimage. What I am wondering is that why God can accept them but the other Muslims can’t; it really confuses me.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
